US Army National Guard | UNT Army ROTC

US Army National Guard

Information courtesy of the US Army Homepage -

The Army National Guard was established under Title 10 and Title 32 of the U.S. Code. The Army National Guard is part of the National Guard and is divided up into subordinate units stationed in each of the 50 states, three territories and the District of Columbia operating under their respective governors. The Army National Guard may be called up for active duty by the state governors or territorial commanding generals to help respond to domestic emergencies and disasters, such as those caused by hurricanes, floods, and earthquakes.

With the consent of state governors, members or units of the Army National Guard may be appointed, temporarily or indefinitely, to be federally recognized armed force members, in the active or inactive service of the United States. If federally recognized, the member or unit becomes part of the Army National Guard of the United States, which is a reserve component of the United States Army, and part of the National Guard of the United States.

Army National Guard of the United States units or members may be called up for federal active duty in times of Congressionally sanctioned war or national emergency. The President may also call up members and units of state Army National Guard, with the consent of state governors, to repel invasion, suppress rebellion, or execute federal laws if the United States or any of its states or territories are invaded or is in danger of invasion by a foreign nation, or if there's a rebellion or danger of a rebellion against the authority of the federal government, or if the President is unable with the regular armed forces to execute the laws of the United States. Because both state Army National Guard and the Army National Guard of the United States relatively go hand-in-hand, they are both usually referred to as just Army National Guard.


Training in the United States Army National Guard is generally divided into two categories - individual/initial and collective.

Initial Enlisted

Basic training consists of 10 weeks followed by AIT (Advanced Individualized Training) where they receive training for their MOS (military occupational specialties) with the length of AIT school varying by the MOS. Some individuals MOS's range anywhere from 14-20 weeks of One Station Unit Training, (OSUT) which counts as basic and AIT. Support and other MOS hopefuls attend nine to eleven weeks of Basic Combat Training followed by Advanced Individual Training in their primary (MOS) at any of the numerous MOS training facilities around the country.

The length of time spent in AIT depends on the MOS of the soldier. (ex. 25B- IT Specialist MOS is 24 Weeks, 11B- Infantry 15 weeks). Depending on the needs of the Army, BCT is conducted at a number of locations. Two of the longest running are the Armor School at Fort Knox, Kentucky and the Infantry School at Fort Benning, Georgia. Following these basic and advanced training schools, soldiers may opt to continue on with their training and apply for an "ASI" which stands for "Additional Skill Identifier". The ASI allows the Army to take a wide ranging MOS and taper it into a more unique MOS. For instance, take a combat medic whose duties are to provide pre-hospital emergency care. With an ASI the medic can receive additional training and become a Cardiovascular Specialist, a Dialysis Specialist or even a Licensed Practical Nurse.

Initial Officer

This training includes pre-commissioning training either at USMA, ROTC, or OCS. After commissioning, officers undergo branch specific training at the Basic Officer Leaders Course, (formerly called Officer Basic Course) which varies in time and location based on their future jobs. Further career development is available through the Army Correspondence Course Program.


Collective training takes place both at the unit's assigned station, but the most intensive collective training takes place at the three Combat Training Centers (CTC); the National Training Center (NTC) at Fort Irwin, California, the Joint Readiness Training Center (JRTC) at Fort Polk, Louisiana, and the Joint Multinational Training Center (JMRC) at the Hohenfels Training Area in Hohenfels, Germany.


There are eight Army National Guard divisions.

  • 28th Infantry Division (PA ARNG and FL ARNG)
  • 29th Infantry Division (VA ARNG and MD ARNG)
  • 34th Infantry Division (MN ARNG and IA ARNG)
  • 35th Infantry Division (KS ARNG and NE ARNG)
  • 36th Infantry Division (TX ARNG)
  • 38th Infantry Division (IN ARNG, MI ARNG, and OH ARNG)
  • 40th Infantry Division (CA ARNG)
  • 42nd Infantry Division (NY ARNG, NJ ARNG, VT ARNG, and ME ARNG)

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now